Simplicity Living

-Myself and Katy ( a young lady I mentor here on the land) sat in the facilities barn after tending to the goats and cutting bracken for the ducks bedding, for a pause.  I had been hand washing our clothes as stupidly I’d pulled the handle off my washing machine (bear with me…the story continues). I grabbed for the book ‘Timeless Simplicity’ by John Lane, and found this to try to explain my ramblings to her on the pleasure, and fundamentally important role to nourish our sense of worth, that you get from tending to ones own basic needs of warmth, clothing, shelter, food etc. Me and D’Arcy used to hand wash when Sailing near Canneswe lived aboard our boat Courtchu (she is now for sale, see website) sat on the pontoon with a bucket, hanging it up in the rigging. I added a few more rambles to Katy about possessing only what we need and connecting with what we do, not going to work to buy things to do jobs for us to free up time and then fill that time with empty passtimes! Anyhow, John Lane is clearly more eloquent than myself:

The Industrialist was horrified to find the fisherman lying beside his boat.

Why aren’t you fishing? said the Industrialist

-Because I have caught enough fish for the day.

-Why don’t you catch some more?

-What would I do with them?

Earn more money. Then you could have a motor fixed to your boat and go into deeper water and catch more fish. That would bring you money to buy nylon nets, so more fish, more money. Soon you would have enough to buy two boats, even a fleet of boats. Then you could be rich like me.

-What would I do then?

-Then you could sit back and enjoy life.

-What do you think I’m doing now?

This made me smile.  I invited Katy to wash her own clothes this week and report back next week!!!!

Leave a Reply

